What's new?


Set to be arriving this year, Haken will unveil their first ever live album come June 22nd via Inside Out.

The band have been touring the world following their absolutely brilliant 80’s themed Prog journey that was 2016’s Affinity, however following that, the band honoured their past with a ten year anniversary tour. Filmed on April 13th in the Netherlands at the Melkweg venue in Amsterdam, the band will now be able to release this footage to world so that we can all celebrate in our front room with them!

Regarding the new release the band commented :

“The release of official live material is a project that is long overdue and we know our existing fans have been crying out for this for some time now. Whilst we have filmed and recorded many shows in the past we have always felt there were elements of our shows that could be improved ‘visually’ before we documented and immortalised this for the world to see and that the timing for a live release  never felt right for us. This is just our nature as creative people to be so extremely self-critical and constantly strive for perfection. It is largely due to the will of the people that the idea of this project became a reality. Both the band and the label were inundated with emails requesting a live release in some shape or form, and it was actually rather flattering, so giving the people what they wanted just felt like the right thing to do.”

If you’ve seen Haken before then you’ll know that their setlist was picked to the utmost perfection with tracks that consisted of across their discography :

1.       affinity.exe/Initiate

2.       In Memoriam

3.       1985

4.       Red Giant

5.       Aquamedley

6.       As Death Embraces

7.       Atlas Stone

8.       Cockroach King

9.       The Architect

10.   The Endless Knot

11.   Visions

DVD Bonus Material

  1. Falling Back to Earth
  2. Earthrise
  3. Pareidolia
  4. Crystallised

Continuing from the 80’s theme on Affinity the band once again partnered with Blacklake for the album cover and has been mixed by Neal Morse and Jerry Guidroz, two names you would want behind you! The band have also begun teasing the writing for their as yet untitled new album.


“We’re currently getting our teeth stuck into the writing process for Album 5 and great ideas are forming and evolving as we speak. It’s still early days but there is a sense among us that Haken may take a darker path with this one. However, the playing field is still wide open and the direction this record takes could alter at any point. One thing is certain: We will endeavour to stick to our mandate of strong melodies and Killer riffs! ”

Excited? I certainly am! You can preorder a copy of the live album right here! 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: